recipes, Uncategorized

Week One – Done

Week one down. It's not so bad, is it? Check out my menu for the first week and my wine withdrawals.

Breakfast:
Lots of chia seed puddings and lots of eggs. Eh, not so bad. The chia seed pudding is awesome because you can make it the night before and store them for a few days for a quick, on the go breakfast. Mason jars for the win!
Pro tip (I'm a pro now) : Let the chia seeds soak for at least a half hour before putting in your fruit smoothie/mix. Have no idea what chia seed pudding is? Check out my recipe.

Lunch:
Salad and kale and kale and salad. MAKE IT STOP. Salads are so easy to prep and easy to store but holy sugar-honey-ice-tea do you get sick of them. And they're not that filling. I made kale and apple salads and Niçoise salad which were both good but left my stomach grumbling. I'd be starving around 1:30/2 and then over snack. I fixed this issue by adding a little more protein.

The kale and sautéed apples were great but really needed some chicken. I'd reduce some balsamic vinaigrette to pour over because kale is pretty rough when it's raw.

http://pin.it/w4BCImF

The Niçoise salad was resale great. I loved the tuna with Dijon mustard and the hard boiled egg made me full and helped me get through the day.

Snacks:
This was the hardest. You're really not supposed to snack on the Whole30 but especially with my workout regimen, there's no way I can't snack.

I kept an arsenal of almonds and unsweetened coconut flakes (which are not a super snack, but they did the job) on my desk for a pick me up in between meals. Just be careful because they are really easy to over eat.

I always have an apple AND a banana at my desk. I did buy almond butter but that was for emergency hunger pangs, because quiet frankly, it's disgusting.

Raw tomatoes have also been a go to. I've been looking for locally sourced heirloom tomatoes and they are friggen' delicious. I recommend Whole Foods (for real, they're so good).

Pistachios were always a fav from my childhood but eating too many of them actually kills my stomach. So do not munch too hard on those.

Dinner:
My FAV meal of the day. At first I had a really hard time eating enough and I was hungry but I found some delicious recipes. My jalapeño turkey burgers kicked ass and I didn't even miss the bun. I did miss the cheese though.

Zoodles are my easy go-to. Just spiralize, add some garlic, peppers, tomatoes, and any type of protein and you have yourself a filling, delectable dinner.
http://www.foodnetwork.com/grilling/grilling-central-how-tos/photos/11-amazing-things-to-make-with-zoodles

Cauliflower rice is so hard to make. I would recommend using a food processor if you have one. I grated it and boy did that take forEVER. But sautéing up with olive oil and a lil bit of seasoning was actually pretty good. I put it under chicken and mixed veggies and got two nights out of it!

My favorite meal and most accomplished one was my steak and turkey skewers. I grilled for the first time and they came out awesome! The marinade was good and a little spicy and I chopped up peppers, zucchini, and onions to go along and made guacamole as a sauce. I used turkey instead of chicken, the recipe needed a little alternating but overall they were great. I opted out of the yogurt sauce.

All in all, I really like clean eating. I feel great, my body is loving it, my six pack is coming in nicely (lol no it's not) I really do feel better, my attention span had increased, I'm more alert, and my dermatitis is actually completely gone. I miss wine a lot but it's easy to say no to alcohol to keep my body feeling this good. Follow me on Instagram @Roaming.redhead or check out my Snapchat @Gibneysummore for more foodie photos and redhead thoughts.

Have you done the Whole30? Are you thinking about it? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a comment